Are you an impostor?

I always felt a little bit like an impostor, that I don’t deserve to be where I am. Like I’m not special nor I ever did anything special to be where I am. That I’m just lucky.

I guess I’m not alone. According to this article, 58% of the tech field suffer from Impostor Syndrome. Surprisingly (or not), this is the highest for any field, as showed in this article.

Why do you think this number is higher in our field? Have you ever felt like an impostor yourself? What have you done, if anything, to overcome it?

5 Likes

I feel like that pretty much every day! I try to own the feeling and make sure that I’m clear with folks that I’m still learning new things every single day. I’m not good with heights, so being up on a pedestal isn’t a place that I’m comfortable with :joy: and I try to redirect folks who seem to be headed in that direction.

3 Likes

I like your approach. And it made me think of something else… vulnerability.

If you are new to the topic, Brené Brown has a great TedX talk on it:

The reason your approach, @glb, remembers me this topic is the fact that it isn’t easy to be open about your vulnerabilities, such as how much you know(or don’t) about a topic, especially when you are being paid by someone to work on and around it every day.

Have you ever felt like the Impostor Syndrome took over the ability to be vulnerable? How did you overcome that?

3 Likes

I suspect it might come from our field being so broad and deep. There is so much to learn and understand in the world of both Cloud and Cyber Security that you feel you are only scratching the surface. And that is actually true. If we say we are a Cloud expert or something that can be both true and not as it depends on the specific topic. Technical people tend to be humble though about their knowledge area. I have met many people that are an expert on certain topics that would say they are not an expert. I guess it is all relative.