How do you practice leadership?

Not all of us are in roles that traditionally mean leadership, like team leader, manager, etc.

However I learned, quite late honestly, that leadership isn’t equal to “management role”. Leadership, to me, is a way to positively influence those around you, help them grown and, sometimes, work together to achieve a common goal. Meaning, I like to think, but maybe I’m 100% wrong, that leadership is really close to mentorship.

More recently I started to implement on my daily routine some strategies to be a better mentor, specially for those newer to the career. Let me give you an example.

Because I worked as a Sales Engineer in my previous role, many sellers in my organization still look for me as they tryst me, which is great! For the longest, I would still take every opportunity to speak to their customers just because it was a way to keep myself sharp, but also, and shamefully, it was good for my ego. I’m still relevant! I started to think more about this and realized that I was overworking and my newer peers weren’t even considered, just because they are new, and not because they aren’t 100x more awesome than me! So, what I did was to start to redirect these request to newer peers and couch them to make sure they would wow the seller and put them in everyone’s radar!

How about you? How do you practice leadership?

1 Like

It’s easy to recognize good leadership when you’ve seen bad leadership.